Organization structure

  • ERFAN Secretariat

At the IZSAM the ERFAN Secretariat will be established.  A Secretariat delegate will be part of the Steering Committee. The Secretariat will play a crucial role in order to energize and give impetus to the scientific Network.

Main duties and responsibilities: organization meetings with local support; providing necessary information to partners; preparing and finalizing technical and financial reports; drafting and finalization of agendas and minutes of meetings; liaising with third party organizations from the private sector.

In addition, the secretariat will work in the field of fundraising, supporting ERFAN partners in adapting the research project and its budget to the formats required by the donors.

  • Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee (SC) will be composed by the representatives of each veterinary institution, by each Working group coordinator and the Secretariat. Dedicated persons will formulate a final document with regard to specific activities, will help to review the projects, will evaluate the project proposals at the regional meetings, will evaluate collectively the action plans by each group and the report back on activities. The evaluation will be in terms of organization, results, management, objectives, general decisions, final report. The SC will help to draft project proposals and will stimulate the application for international grants. Furthermore, the S.C. will draw up a financial report approved by the Steering Committee. The chairperson will be identified during the first general meeting.

  • Steering Committee

The Steering Committee will be composed by the representatives of Italian and African Institutions, by the Italian CVO Dr Borrello, the Advisor to the Director General of the OIE, Dr Marabelli, by the Secretariat Delegate and by Prof. Coetzer. This Committee is the strategic group of the Network. The annual report should be checked and authorized by the SC.

  • Working Groups

The Working Groups (WG) will be seven. For each group, African and Italian coordinators will be identified during the regional meetings. The coordinators have to play the role in creating a productive and active WG. In charge for two years, They will be responsible for checking on the WG progress. The tasks ascribed to them relate to: activity list, report of activity executed, strategy, responsibility. The WG will draw up an action list annually, at regional level, according to the OIE mandate as regards the Reference Laboratories and Collaborating Centres. The reports will focus on budget, tasks, responsibility with a view to ownership and direct involvement. The research activities for each area will be determined on evidence of priority. Each group will build up three proposals for focus area, for the four years project, and the Scientific Committee will evaluate them. Emphasis will be placed on the cross border collaboration and regional projects.

The Scientific Committee will help to draft full project proposals.

The WGs include Italian and African Institutions, as following:

  1. Animal Welfare: Faculty of Veterinary Science, South Africa(FVS-UP) and IZSAM
  2. CBPP and CA: BNVL, Botswana and IZSPA. The WG have to be defined for UMA Region
  3. Food Hygiene: CVL, Namibia and IZSAM. They will be defined for UMA Region
  4. Vectors Born Diseases: FVS-UP and IZSAM. They will be defined for UMA Region
  5. One Health Anthrax, Brucellosis and TB: Anthrax, and TB FVS-UP and IZSFG. The WG have to be defined for UMA Region. Satellite WG Brucellosis CVL, Zimbabwe and IZSAM. They will be defined for UMA Region.
  6. Training in Veterinary science: Faculty of Veterinary Science, South Africa
  7. TSE: IZSTO The WG have to be defined for UMA Region

AuthorLaura De Antoniis

My background: International Studies concerning Latin American-Africa-Middle Est Countries, Political Science and Development Cooperation Politics Current Job: Consultant at Istituto Zooprofilattico Sperimentale Abruzzo e Molise Previous Job: Consultant at Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nation, WAICENT Department